First inaugurates new colleague awards

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.
Winners of First’s Heroic Contributions award Derek Milliken (First Scotland), Darren Telford (First Manchester, Midlands & South Yorkshire) and Jakub Malicki (First East of England). FIRST BUS

First Bus recently hosted its inaugural ‘Our Way’ Awards event to recognise and celebrate front-line colleagues across its businesses. Staff gathered at London’s St Pancras Renaissance Hotel on Wednesday 17 April, where TV presenter Steph McGovern handed out the awards to the well-deserved winners.

The awards involved a nomination and shortlisting process, comprising two rounds of judging by independent panels and chaired by First Bus Managing Director Janette Bell. The first four categories focused on employees who were judged to embody the company’s ‘Our Way’ values of ‘Always Care, Do What’s Right, Shape the Future and Succeed Together.’ An additional ‘Heroic Contributions’ category was added during the judging process to recognise those who had gone above and beyond the call of duty to keep their customers and the public safe.

First Bus Chief People Officer Kevin Green said: “The Our Way Awards are the latest part of the wider business transformation here at First Bus, as we strive to create a culture where our colleagues feel valued, supported and listened to. Putting our people first and recognising the fantastic work they do for our customers each and every day is crucial.

“As the backbone of our business, it’s important we take the time to celebrate their success and give them the credit they deserve for going above and beyond. A huge congratulations to our winners and those shortlisted – they should be very proud of what they’ve achieved.”

Bath won the Most Improved Large Depot award. FIRST BUS