Membership of Transport Select Committee confirmed

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.

The House of Commons formally appointed the members of the Transport Committee on July 8.

The 11-strong committee which scrutinises the work of the Department for Transport has its membership drawn from the three largest political parties. During this parliament, they are: Robert Flello (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent South); Mary Glindon (Labour, North Tyneside)

Karl McCartney (Conservative, Lincoln); Stewart Malcolm McDonald (Scottish National Party, Glasgow South); Mark Menzies (Conservative, Fylde); Huw Merriman, (Conservative, Bexhill and Battle); Will Quince (Conservative, Colchester); Iain Stewart (Conservative, Milton Keynes South); Graham Stringer (Labour, Blackley and Broughton); and Martin Vickers (Conservatives, Cleethorpes).

Louise Ellman (Labour, Liverpool Riverside) has been elected as the committee’s Chairman by a secret ballot open to all members of the House of Commons. The other members of the committee were elected by secret ballot within their own party. The number of seats each party gets on each committee is allocated in proportion to their representation in the House of Commons as a whole.