New Passenger Focus Chairman appointed

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.

Jeff Halliwell will start as Chairman at Passenger Focus from February 9, 2015.

The Secretary of State for Transport, Patrick McLoughlin, announced the appointment on December 16. Jeff Halliwell has been appointed for a four year term, with an expected time commitment of 104 days per year. He will take up the role following a short handover from the existing Chairman, Colin Foxall, whose term will come to an end on February 6, 2015 after nearly 10 years in the role.

Patrick McLoughlin said: “Transport is a vital part of our long-term economic plan, and Passenger Focus has a hugely important role in making sure passengers have a strong voice in the development of our infrastructure.

“I am pleased that Jeff Halliwell will be taking on the role of Chairman to lead Passenger Focus forward during a period that will hopefully see an increasing focus on the needs of transport users.

“I should also like to take the opportunity to pay tribute to the current Chairman, Colin Foxall. His dedication and commitment to representing the needs of passengers has shone through as has his honesty, integrity and constructive attitude in dealing with the government.”

Jeff Halliwell said: “Passenger Focus has developed an excellent reputation in representing the interest of transport users. It has achieved credibility with stakeholders through the use of thorough, evidence-based research, and I’m looking forward very much to supporting its important work.”

Subject to parliamentary approval, Passenger Focus will be taking on a new role next year representing the interests of users of the strategic road network.