Scottish Citylink wins ‘operator of the year’ award

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.
Scottish Citylink’s Marketing Manager Nicola Campbell, Commercial Manager Ker Corbett and Assistant Service Delivery Manager Lynda Melvin receive their award. CITYLINK

Scottish Citylink has been named Scotland’s Public Transport Operator of the Year at the 2024 Scottish Transport Awards, after growing its customer base through a focus on the quality of its services and making continual improvements to its network and customer service.

In the past year, Citylink has introduced new vehicles worth around £8.5m, overhauled its website, and launched a new app. Scottish Citylink Managing Director Simone Walsh said: “We’re absolutely thrilled to win this award and it’s a huge boost to our team after they’ve worked so hard on delivering more services than ever, connecting and reaching more people and offering more ease and convenience for customers.

“We have a fantastic team of people who make all of this possible – they work hard for customers day in, day out and it’s a very proud moment for us all to be named Operator of the Year.”

Other bus industry award winners included First Bus for its ‘Free to Explore’ marketing campaign promoting free bus travel for under 22s, in the ‘Excellence in Travel Information & Marketing’ category, for which Stagecoach Scotland’s ‘Bussed It, Bossed It’ youth campaign also received a commendation, whilst Glenfarg Community Transport’s service 55 won the best bus service title.

Commeded in that category was Stagecoach East Scotland’s Fife to Edinburgh Airport JET747 service. In the ‘Contribution to Sustainable Transport’ category, Aberdeen City Council won the award for its city centre bus priority measures, whilst Ralph Roberts of McGill’s won a lifetime achievement award. McGill’s driver Mohammad Ramzan was named front line employee of the year (see our People pages), with commendations for John Fry of First Bus Scotland, Kian Greene and Kary-Ann McGregor from McGill’s, and Colin Hunter of Stagecoach East Scotland.