Showbus awards for 2017 announced

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.
Johnson Brothers’ Plaxton-bodied Bedford VAL, which was presented in Dukeries Coaches livery, won the Shillibeer Award this year. ANDY IZATT

Showbus International 2017 has announced the winners of its awards, with Pulham’s Coaches taking away the Premier Operator Award.

The Shillibeer Award was given to Johnson Brothers’ Plaxton-bodied Bedford VAL. The top single-decker was a Llandudno Commer PN3 Waveney – while the top double-decker was West Bromwich Daimler CVG6 Weyman. The winner for best modern vehicle (post-2009) was UNO’s Alexander Dennis Enviro400 City.

The winners of the remaining awards are as follows:

  •  Best post 1999 Stagecoach/Arriva/First/Go-Ahead vehicle: Arriva Southern Counties Green Line Van Hool TX17
  •  Best modern bus post 2009: The Delaine Wrightbus Gemini-bodied Volvo B5LT
  •  Best Modern coach post 2009: Sharpes of Nottingham Van Hool EX16H
  •  Pre 1950 vehicle: Vallance’s Coaches AEC Regal III Willowbrook
  •  Best 1951-59 vehicle: Silver Star Tiger Cub Harrington
  •  Best 1960-69 vehicle: Sharpes of Nottingham Routemaster
  •  Best 1970-79 vehicle: Sharpes of Nottingham Ford R192 Duple
  •  Best 1980-1989 vehicle: Moseley Group Bova Europa
  •  Best 1990-1999 vehicle: Dudleys Coaches Plaxton Excalibur-bodied Volvo B10M
  •  Best 2000-2009 vehicle: Mystic Isle Mercedes-Benz Tourismo