UK Bus Awards shortlist announced

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.
The shortlist announcement this year was held at the London Transport Museum in Covent Garden
The shortlist announcement this year was held at the London Transport Museum in Covent Garden

First and Arriva lead the nominations as a record number of finalists are announced

A record number of 96 finalists have been selected from over 400 plus nominations for this year’s UK Bus Awards.

The shortlist includes representation from all the major groups, as well as municipal operators with 10 nominations and independent operators with six – while there are 12 from local authorities, PTEs and Combined Authorities.

Topping the list are Arriva and FirstGroup both with 15 nominations each, while Go-Ahead has 11, closely followed by Stagecoach with 10.

Tony Depledge, Chairman of the UK Bus Awards, said: “Yet again, this year’s entries embody the vibrant and creative spirit showcased by the UK Bus Awards Scheme and I’m delighted we have another year of strong competition

“The judges have selected a superb range of entries for the final stages of the contest, where rising passenger numbers and satisfaction and ever-imaginative marketing initiatives, focused on listening to customers, have shone out.”

“Each and every finalist has winning qualities and I wish them all every success at this year’s ceremony in November.”

The finalists are as follows:


Awards for People


Chris Moyes Memorial Award for Top National Bus Driver sponsored by Traffilog

Clare Akehurst, First Manchester

Jaison Annear, First West of England

Malcolm Burton, First South Yorkshire

Ian Greenfield, Arriva Midlands

Paul Prosser, National Express West Midlands

Stephen Reed, Stagecoach West Scotland

Les Roome, Nottingham City Transport

Justyna Wawrzycka, Arriva North East


Engineer of the Year in association with IRTE

Tony Cockcroft, Stagecoach Merseyside

Stuart Drummond, First UK Bus (North Region)

Jason Jackson, Ensign Bus

Evran Kiazim, Arriva Southern Counties

Leigh Vardanega, London United Busways

Unsung Heroes Award sponsored by Backhouse Jones

Shayne Howarth, Stagecoach Yorkshire

Chris Icely, Stagecoach Manchester

Brian Reeves, Abellio London & Surrey

Andrew Wright & Neale Murphy, First UK Bus (North Region)


Young Manager of the Year sponsored by CILT UK

Matthew Ashton, Arriva Yorkshire

Nick Faichney, Arriva London

Richard Hoare, Arriva North West and Wales

Rob Hughes, First Group

Stephanie Maher, National Express UK Bus


Technical and Professional Awards


Environment Award sponsored by Volvo Bus

Milton Keynes Electric Bus Project, Arriva Shires & Essex

Carbon Smart Project, First UK Bus (North Region)

Luton Dunstable Busway, Luton Borough Council

Electric Bus Project, Nottingham City Council

The Volvo 7900EH Electric Hybrid Bus, Volvo Bus

Yellow Buses Go Green, West Yorkshire’s Combined Authority


Alexander Dennis Innovation Award

Milton Keynes Electric Bus Project, Arriva Shires & Essex

Mobile Tickets for Buses, Barclays Bank

First’s Better Journey Card, First West of England

Transport for Edinburgh Official Ticket App, with m-ticketing, Lothian Buses, Stagecoach

Delivering a Cash-free Bus Network in London, Transport for London


Local Authority Bus Project of the Year, sponsored by The TAS Partnership

Lewes Road Sustainable Transport Corridor, Brighton & Hove City Council

Luton Dunstable Busway, Luton Borough Council

Beach Bus, New Forest National Park Authority

Portsmouth Park & Ride, Portsmouth City Council

BusTrackerSEStran, SESTran


Making Buses a Better Choice: the Peter Huntley Memorial Award sponsored by Heathrow Airport

Arriva Watford – Perfect 10, Arriva Shires & Essex

simpliCITY Network,First Glasgow

Luton Dunstable Busway, Luton Borough Council

pink shuttle – better for everyone, Reading Buses

zoom – making buses better the quick way, trent barton


Putting Passengers First sponsored by Euro Bus Expo

The Arriva Angels, Arriva Yorkshire

Transforming Bus Travel – Partnership Plus, CENTRO – WMPTA

Investing in our customers, Go North East

Taking Customer Service to the next level, Lothian Buses

Getting Chester back on the bus, Stagecoach Merseyside

‘All Aboard!’, Transport for London


The Award for Marketing Initiative of the Year sponsored by Passenger Transport magazine

X1/1/1b – people disappearing every 15 minutes, Arriva North East

Student Campaign, First UK Bus (North Region)

Fairer Fares, Bristol Fare Consultation, First West of England

Nightbus Home safe. Midnight to 4.30am, Lothian Buses

Skegness Seasiders, Stagecoach East Midlands

Freeride Sunday, trent barton


The Award for Sustained Marketing Excellence sponsored by Exterion Media

Business to Business – Go Growth!, Arriva Yorkshire

Arriva Social Media – Never Miss the Buzz, Arriva UK Bus

First Manchester – Growth Strategy, First UK Bus (North Region)

Marketing for Growth, Go North East

listen, innovate, improve – the evolution of Reading Buses, Reading Buses


Operating Awards


Top City Operator sponsored by INIT Innovations

Arriva Merseyside

Go North East

National Express West Midlands

Nottingham City Transport

Stagecoach Manchester

Stagecoach North East


Top Independent Operator sponsored by Scania

Compass Travel


Ipswich Buses

Prentice Coaches

Courtney Buses


Top Shire Operator sponsored by Ticketer

First York



Reading Buses

Travel de Courcey


Note: The winners of the Top Shire, Top City and Top Independent Operator Awards will go forward to the contest for the award for Top UK Bus Operator of the Year, sponsored by A J Gallagher and QBE Insurance


Top National Bus Depot sponsored by Personal Group

Balfron, First Scotland East

Blyth, Arriva North East

Crawley, Metrobus

Gotham, Nottingham City Transport

Newport, Southern Vectis

Rotherham, First South Yorkshire


London Awards


Top London Bus Garage of the Year sponsored by Transport for London

Battersea, Abellio London & Surrey

Hounslow Heath, London United

Kings Cross, Metroline Travel

Potters Bar, Metroline Travel

Romford, Stagecoach London

Sutton, Go Ahead London


Luke Rees-Pulley Charitable Trust Award for Top London Bus Driver sponsored by Transport for London

Alex Burrows – Bexleyheath, Go-Ahead Group

Richard Emerton – Fulwell, London United Busways

Natasha Lambert – Merton, Go-Ahead Group

Chola Mitchell – Croydon, Metrobus

Damien Nota – Battersea, Abellio London & Surrey

Andrew Phillip – Battersea, Abellio London & Surrey

Mohammed Shabir – Ash Grove, HCT Group

Trevor Stotten, Epsom Buses