UK Bus Awards winners announced

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.

The winners of this year’s UK Bus Awards have been announced, and are as follows. 

A full report on the event will appear in next week’s issue of CBW, 1370.

UK Bus Operator of the Year sponsored by Gallagher and QBE Insurance
Gold: Go South Coast
Silver: Nottingham City Transport
Bronze: Ensign Bus

Top National Bus Driver sponsored by Volvo
Gold: Aaron Johnson – Nottingham City Transport
Silver: Adam Davies – Transdev Blazefield
Bronze: James Kearney – trentbarton

Top City Operator sponsored by INNIT
Gold: Nottingham City Transport
Silver: Stagecoach Merseyside
Bronze: Stagecoach Manchester

Top Shire Operator sponsored by Ticketer
Gold: Go South Coast
Silver: Reading Buses
Bronze: Metrobus

Top Independent Operator sponsored by Omnibus
Gold: Ensign Bus
Silver: Prentice Coaches
Bronze: Scarlet Band Bus and Coach

Top National Bus Depot sponsored by Personal Group
Gold: Crawley, Metrobus
Silver: St Andrews, Stagecoach East Scotland
Bronze: Newport, Isle of Wight – Go South Coast – Southern Vectis

TfL London Bus Garage of the Year sponsored by TfL
Gold: Twickenham – Abellio London
Silver: Tolworth – RATP Dev London
Bronze: Brixton – Arriva London South

Top London Bus Driver sponsored by TfL and Luke Rees-Pulley Charitable Trust
Gold: Anthony Banks-Walker – RATP Dev London
Silver: David Harris – Arriva London
Bronze: Christine Watkins – Arriva London

Making Buses a Better Choice sponsored by Heathrow Airport
Gold: Stagecoach Bus – Bus Services in New Residential Developments Guidance
Silver: Transport for West Midlands and Partners – West Midlands Bus Alliance
Bronze: Stagecoach Yorkshire – The X10 Stagecoach Express

Putting Passengers First sponsored by Coach and Bus 2019
Gold: Make my Mainline – The Burnley Bus Company
Silver: Hello London – TfL and Steps Drama Learning Development
Bronze: How do I catch a bus? – Stagecoach East Scotland

Bus and the Community Award

Gold: Drive On – HCT Group
Silver: The #BeNiceBus – Stagecoach Group
Bronze: Christmas Fundraising Campaign – Stagecoach North East

Environment Award
Gold: World’s largest fleet of bio-gas double deckers – Nottingham City Transport
Silver: World’s first zero emission electric double decker – Optare
Bronze: Electric vehicles – Lothian Buses

New Horizons sponsored by Passenger Transport
Gold: VecTive – Vectare
Silver: How do I catch a bus? – Stagecoach East Scotland
Bronze: On board passenger information systems – Lothian Buses

Marketing Initiative of the Year sponsored by Bus and Coach Buyer
Gold: The Comet, come fly with us – Uno Bus
Silver: The Pops and Cheshire Cat – Warrington’s Own Buses
Bronze: Better by Bus – Merseytravel and Partners

ROSCO Innovation in Road Safety
Gold: Lytx DriveCam – National Express West Midlands
Silver: Technology + empowered employees = safer buses – Reading Buses
Bronze: Walking and Cycling in London – RATP Dev London

Sustained Marketing Excellence sponsored by Exterion Media
Gold: m1 and m2 – Go South Coast, morebus
Silver: Express City Connect – Stagecoach East Scotland
Bronze: Bluestar shining across the city – Go South Coast, Bluestar

Leadership and Inspiration
Gold: Jim Thorpe – Uno Bus
Silver: Michael Gatenby – Arriva Yorkshire
Bronze: Oliver Monahan – Arriva South Counties

Engineer of the Year sponsored by IRTE ‘SOE’
Gold: Terry Absalom – Stagecoach London
Silver: Ben Coghlan – Stagecoach Manchester
Bronze: Colin Barnes – Go North East
Highly Commended – Graham Smith – Nottingham City Transport

Unsung Heroes Award by Backhouse Jones
Gold: Matt Begg – Stagecoach Midlands

Young Manager of the Year sponsored by Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport
Gold: Rob Hutchings – Arriva London South
Silver: Alex Chutter – Go South Coast
Bronze: Andy Turnbull – Transdev Blazefield

Services to the Industry Award
Claire Haigh – Greener Journeys
Professor David Begg – Transport Times