EPTO ‘relaunches’ following appointment of new President

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.

The European Passenger Transport Operators’ association (EPTO) has appointed Head of Policy at FirstGroup’s bus division, John Birtwistle, as its new President with immediate effect. EPTO currently has seven members: Arriva, First, Go-Ahead, Keolis, National Express, Stagecoach and Barraqueiro.

Speaking about his appointment, John reiterated the aims of EPTO: “We need to maintain strong links between European Union member states irrespective of the future relationship with the UK.

“Public transport is a cross boundary operation where market conditions and the operational environment can foster operational excellence and efficiency and stimulate modal shift away from private cars.

“This can help reduce congestion, also improving economic prosperity, air quality and accessibility for all.

“We want to work with the decision makers in the EU to share our collective experience and encourage further market opening and opportunities for the private sector.”


You can read more news here: cbwmagazine.com/category/news