UK Bus Awards 2017 finalists announced

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.
The Finalist Announcement sees over 100 projects and people recognised across 19 categories

Announcement made at Museum of Transport in Greater Manchester ahead of ceremony on November 2

The UK Bus Awards’ live Finalist Announcement took place at the Museum of Transport, Greater Manchester earlier this month. The event showcased outstanding individuals and teams from all corners of Great Britain that have reached the final of the UK Bus Awards 2017.

The Finalist Announcement sees over 100 projects and people recognised across 19 categories, from Top National Bus Driver, to the New Horizons award. The winners will be announced on November 21 at the Troxy venue in London’s East End, where BBC News presenter Jane Hill will host the ceremony.

Mark Yexley, Chairman for the UK Bus Awards, said: “We have some truly inspirational people working in our industry, leading innovation and outstanding improvements in the customer experience. They show unrivalled commitment in delivering a first-class service day in, day out. We’re very proud to be able to recognise and reward these people and initiatives that really make a difference.

“Our Finalists’ Announcement is a very special day for all those involved, it’s been great to visit the North West, and what a great setting to be able to celebrate the people, projects and organisations that will shape the industry of the future.”

The full list of this year’s finalists can be found below:

Bus and the Community Award

  •  Arriva London, Payroll Giving
  •  Arriva Midlands – Telford Depot, Dementia Awareness
  •  Arriva Midlands – Luton Depot, Commitment to Luton
  •  Bath Bus Company with Industry Colleagues, Imberbus
  •  First Eastern Counties, Titan Partnership
  •  RATP Dev London – Tolworth Bus Garage, Working with Young Offenders
  •  Stagecoach West Scotland, Youth Express

Engineer of the Year

  •  Paul Branigan, First Scotland East & Midland Bluebird
  •  Colin Close, Arriva North East
  •  Kerry Cousins, Nottingham City Transport
  •  Peter Graybrook, Arriva Midlands
  •  Paul Hickinbottom, Arriva Midlands
  •  Steve Martin, National Express West Midlands

Environment Award

  •  The Big Lemon Community Interest Company
  •  First Bus, A Cleaner and Greener Fleet
  •  First York, York Park & Ride Electric Buses
  •  Go-Ahead London, Electric Buses
  •  Lothian Buses, Bus 2020
  •  Nottingham City Council, Electrification of Park & Ride Services

Transport for London Award for London Bus Garage of the Year

  •  Barking, Stagecoach London
  •  Brixton, Arriva London South
  •  Sutton, Go-Ahead London
  •  Twickenham, Abellio London
  •  Willesden, Metroline Travel Limited

Leadership & Inspiration Award

  •  Anthony Carver-Smith, Nottingham City Transport
  •  Stephen King, Go North East
  •  Mariusz Przybylski, Abellio London
  •  Jim Small, RATP Dev London

Making Buses a Better Choice: the Peter Huntley Memorial Award

  •  Arriva Midlands, Arriva Busway Services
  •  First Manchester and Partners, Vantage
  •  Metrobus, Doing more for less in Surrey
  •  Nottingham City Council, Robin Hood Network Smart Ticketing
  •  Reading Buses, Orange and Royal Blue reinvigorated
  •  Stagecoach Midlands, Improving out of town employment sites in partnership with Liftshare
  •  Transport for London, London’s Bus Priority Programme

The Award for Marketing Initiative of the Year

  •  Arriva UK Bus, Get Your Ride On
  •  First Glasgow, Glasgow Airport Express
  •  First West of England, Beat the Rise – mTicket campaign
  •  Go North East, £1 flat fare for 18s and under
  •  National Express West Midlands, Sandwell and Dudley low-fare zone
  •  Nottingham City Council, Ellie the Electric Bus and friends
  •  Stagecoach MCSL, Come on you red men!

New Horizons Award

  •  Arriva plc, ArrivaClick
  •  Passenger Technology Group, “Passenger”
  •  RATP Dev UK, Slide Bristol
  •  Reading Buses, Technology and innovation to make the bus best
  •  Transdev Blazefield, VAMOOZ

Putting Passengers First

  •  Go North East, £1 flat fare for 18s and under
  •  Nottingham City Council, Robin Hood Network Smart Ticketing
  •  Translink, Belfast Airport Express
  •  Yellow Buses, Passenger App and One Hour Ticket

ROSCO Award for Innovation in Road Safety

  •  RATP Dev UK, Route risk assessment maps at Stamford Brook garage
  •  Xplore Dundee, ‘A Stone’s Throw Away’ safety film

The Award for Sustained Marketing Excellence

  •  Brighton & Hove Bus and Coach Company, Bus Times 30th Anniversary
  •  Go South Coast (morebus), Purbeck Breezer
  •  Stagecoach Cumbria & North Lancashire, ‘Lakes Connection’ 555 service
  •  Stagecoach East Scotland, Express City Connect
  •  South Yorkshire Passenger Transport Executive, Busboost
  •  Transdev Blazefield, 36: Riding. Redefined

Top City Operator

  •  Arriva Merseyside
  •  Brighton & Hove Bus and Coach Company
  •  Lothian Buses
  •  National Express West Midlands
  •  Stagecoach Manchester

Top National Bus Driver: the Chris Moyes Memorial Award

  •  Neil Atherton, Arriva North West and Wales
  •  Dale French, Transdev Blazefield
  •  Phil Hadley, Brighton & Hove Bus and Coach Company
  •  Brett Haskett, Arriva Midlands
  •  Jayson Heath, Kinchbus
  •  Maks Pruszewicz, Reading Buses
  •  Sean Thomas, Arriva Midlands

Top Independent Operator

  •  Central Buses
  •  Ensign Bus Company
  •  Marshalls of Sutton on Trent
  •  Prentice Coaches
  •  Stephensons of Essex

Luke Rees Pulley Charitable Trust Award for Top London Bus Driver

  •  Sabatino Barbarino, Abellio London
  •  Altin Cana, RATP Dev London
  •  Eric Forde, RATP Dev UK
  •  Michael Francis, Metroline
  •  Clement Grant, Arriva London
  •  Tina Lee, Stagecoach London
  •  Oliver Salbris, Go-Ahead London
  •  Helen Webster, Arriva London
  •  Peter Whiteman, Go-Ahead London

Top National Bus Depot

  •  Luton, Arriva Midlands
  •  Shrewsbury, Arriva Midlands
  •  Eastleigh, Go South Coast (Bluestar)
  •  Falls Road, Metro (CityBus)
  •  Crawley, Metrobus
  •  St Andrews, Stagecoach East Scotland

Top Shire Operator

  •  Blackpool Transport Services
  •  Go South Coast
  •  Oxford Bus Company
  •  Stagecoach East Scotland

Unsung Heroes Award

  •  Martin Brand, First Glasgow
  •  Ashley Burrows, Brighton & Hove Bus and Coach Company
  •  Chris Leonti, Arriva London
  •  Lynne Nappin, Arriva Midlands
  •  Chris Plummer, Trent Barton
  •  Stuart Roughley, Stagecoach Manchester
  •  Neil Roughton, Arriva Midlands
  •  Jeff Stubbs, Go South Coast (Bluestar)

Young Manager of the Year

  •  Dan Bassett, Reading Buses
  •  Paul Hickinbottom, Arriva Midlands
  •  Mark Mageean, Stagecoach Manchester
  •  Ben Mansfield, Transdev Blazefield
  •  Dean O’Neill, RATP Dev London