Five new CILT board members

News stories are free to read. Click here for full access to all the features, articles and archive from only £8.99.

The Chartered Institute of Transport and Logistics (CILT) has changed its governance structure and has elected five new trustees.

At last week’s EGM the membership overwhelmingly accepted the recommendation of the council and board to change the governance structure of the institute.

The original ambition was voiced some three years ago by the then President, Graeme McFaull, to enhance relevance, simplify processes, speed up decision making and better reflect the views of the members. Following a period of consultation with the membership, the council and board recommended a number of changes to its governance structure, as well as putting in place a vision and set of values for the institute.

The new structure features a directly elected board of trustees, the first five of whom have been named following the recent election, who will join the transitional board members at their first meeting on November 3 this week. The successful five members are: John Boulter FCILT, Margaret Everson FCILT, Jane Green CMILT, Chris Loder MILT and Professor Richard Wilding FCILT. 

They will join Neil Ashworth FCILT, David Grahamslaw FCILT, Bill Acres FCILT, Ian Barclay FCILT , Martin Evans MILT and David Pugh.

Another major feature of the change is that the council is now dissolved and CILT will soon put in place a representative advisory group with clear member representation and influence, constituted of members from nations, regions, professional sectors and forums. Additionally all institute committees, such as audit and finance, will in future report directly to the board.

For more information on CILT, visit or call 01536 740104.